352MC – Evaluation

Evaluation

The idea of this project was to prove my own theory, that you cannot produce true Surrealist photography in the modern age, wrong. So, did I do it?

Well, most of my doodles and original ideas did stem from my unconsciousness. So the doodles themselves could be compared to automatic drawings by original Surrealists such as André Masson.

But what happens when you add photography to this? The taking of photos was not automatic. I thought about the doodles and how I would go about turning them into photos; the body positions and angles so I wouldn’t have to distort the body too much with Photoshop; and the overall editing my images would have to undergo. Does this make it any less automatic or unconscious? Surely there must have been Surrealist painters that began their work with automatic drawings and then painted over the top of that? or painted what they saw in their automatic drawings onto another canvas all together? Is that any different from what I’ve done?

From doing this project I have come to the conclusion that the final images were so far away from the original doodles, they are no longer products of my unconscious. To be fair, any Surrealist that may have used automatic drawings to begin their paintings, probably pretty much exactly copied what they saw, rather than changing it to fit something else, like I did.

I believe this was however, closer to true Surrealism than any of my work that had previously been vaguely related, or inspired by, Surrealism. The work still had an element of the unconscious, hence why it is difficult to make a link between the individual images apart from the obvious connection of them all having me in them. To me they all link together and have a meaning which hopefully comes out in the titles, if nothing else.

I wanted the effect my images have to be that of wonder almost; wondering for a minute if they’re real. I think this was at least achieved with ‘Out of Place’, which is one of my favourite images from this set. It also has the slightly uncanny feel about it; as does ‘Different Perspectives’, which is my favourite image I have created, hence why it shall be the ‘unmoving’ centre piece of my installation.

I have not yet fully decided whether or not to omit the two not so good images from the exhibition. I will be handing them in for marking as they are still very relevent to my work and still quite interesting as images.

The easels were a brilliant idea. It also came to me in quite a strange way. A classmate suggested that maybe I do an installation for our show and I began to think, and it popped into my head. Very Surrealistic. In the world of painting easels generally represent unfinished or works in progress. This is a good analogy for my life, as it is still a work in progress.

I very much enjoyed this project, and am happy despite the fact I have not created true Surrealist photography. I have got much closer than I ever have before and would like to continue working in this method in the future.

“A constant human error: to believe in an end to one’s fantasies. Our daydreams are the measure of our unreachable truth. The secret of all things lies in the emptiness of the formula that guard them.”
Floriano Martins

Hence why I would like to continue working in this way. Imagination and unconscious is un-ending, so why should I stop working this way?

(Word Count: 601)

Leave a Reply

